Page header image

About Us

The Standards Commission is an independent body whose purpose is to encourage high ethical standards in public life through the promotion and enforcement of Codes of Conduct for councillors and those appointed to the boards of devolved public bodies.

Who We Cover

Local Authorities

The Councillors, or elected members, from each of Scotland's 32 Local Authorities have signed up to the Councillors' Code of Conduct.  

Each Councillor is required to register their interests in accordance with the provisions in the Councillors' Code of Conduct.  They are also required to update their register of interests within one month of a change occurring.  All 32 Local Authorities publish a Register of Interests for their elected members. Links to each Local Authority's website are provided below.

Local Authorities

Public Bodies

The public bodies covered by the Ethical Standards in Public Life etc. (Scotland) Act 2000 are required to produce their own Code of Conduct, based on the Model Code of Conduct for Members of the Boards of Devolved Public Bodies. 

Links to the home page of the websites of all of the bodies covered by the 2000 Act are listed below.  Most of the bodies publish their Code of Conduct and Members' Register of Interests on their website.  If you are unable to locate the Code of Conduct or Member's Register of Interests for a specific body, please either contact that body directly or let us know. 

This list of bodies will change from time to time as new bodies are added to the remit of the Act and existing bodies are either removed from the remit of the Act or abolished altogether.  If you cannot find the body you are looking for on the list please contact the Standards Commission and we will check whether or not it falls within our jurisdiction.  

While care has been taken to ensure we only link to websites that are reputable, we have no control over the content of them.  The inclusion of links to other websites is for convenience only and does not imply any endorsement of the content of such sites.

Jump to sections on this page:

Click the relevant section below to view

Individual Public Bodies

Home Page
Accounts Commission for Scotland
Bord na Gaidhlig
Cairngorms National Park Authority
Care Inspectorate
(Social Care and Social Work Improvement Scotland)
Children's Hearings Scotland
Community Justice Scotland
Creative Scotland
Crofting Commission
Crown Estates Scotland
Food Standards Scotland
Healthcare Improvement Scotland
Highlands and Islands Enterprise
Historic Environment Scotland
Independent Living Fund Scotland
Judicial Appointments Board for Scotland
Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park Authority
Mental Welfare Commission for Scotland
National Galleries of Scotland
National Library of Scotland
National Museums of Scotland
National Waiting Times Centre Board
NHS 24
NHS Education for Scotland
NHS National Services Scotland
Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR)
Poverty and Inequality Commission
Public Health Scotland (formerly NHS Health Scotland)
Quality Meat Scotland
Revenue Scotland
Risk Management Authority
Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh
Scottish Agricultural Wages Board
Scottish Ambulance Service Board
Scottish Canals
Scottish Children's Reporter Administration
Scottish Commission on Social Security
Scottish Criminal Cases Review Commission
Scottish Enterprise
Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
Scottish Fiscal Commission
Scottish Funding Council
Scottish Housing Regulator
Scottish Land Commission
Scottish Legal Aid Board
Scottish Legal Complaints Commission
Scottish Natural Heritage
Scottish Police Authority
Scottish Qualifications Authority
Scottish Social Services Council
Scottish Water
Skills Development Scotland
State Hospitals Board for Scotland
Visit Scotland
(Scottish Tourist Board)
Water Industry Commission for Scotland

Further Education Colleges

National Health Service Boards

Regional Transport Partnerships

Health and Social Care Integration Joint Boards

Home Page
Aberdeen City Health and Social Care Partnership Integration Joint Board
Aberdeenshire Integration Joint Board
Angus Integration Joint Board
Argyll & Bute Integration Joint Board
Clackmannanshire & Stirling Integration Joint Board
Dumfries and Galloway Integration Joint Board
Dundee City Health and Social Care Integration Joint Board
East Ayrshire Integration Joint Board
East Dunbartonshire Health & Social Care Partnership
East Lothian Integration Joint Board
East Renfrewshire Integration Joint Board
Edinburgh Integration Joint Board
Falkirk Integration Joint Board
Fife Integration Joint Board
Glasgow City Integration Joint Board
Inverclyde Integration Joint Board
Midlothian Integration Joint Board
Moray Integration Joint Board
North Ayrshire Integration Joint Board
North Lanarkshire Integration Joint Board
Orkney Integration Joint Board
Perth and Kinross Integration Joint Board
Renfrewshire Integration Joint Board
Scottish Borders Health and Social Care Integration Joint Board
Shetland Health and Social Care Partnership
South Ayrshire Council Integration Joint Board
South Lanarkshire Integration Joint Board
West Dunbartonshire Integration Joint Board
Western Isles Integration Joint Board
West Lothian Integration Joint Board