Page header image

About Us

The Standards Commission is an independent body whose purpose is to encourage high ethical standards in public life through the promotion and enforcement of Codes of Conduct for councillors and those appointed to the boards of devolved public bodies.

Members of the Commission

The Standards Commission comprises a Convener and four Commission Members who are appointed by the Parliamentary corporation.  The Standards Commission employs three staff, led by an Executive Director.

Information about the Standards Commission's Members including their registered interests, is outlined below.

Code of Conduct for Standards Commission Members

Members of the Standards Commission have adopted their own Code of Conduct.  This can be found here.


Kevin Dunion OBE, Convener

Other interests and positions held:

Appointed as member of the Scottish Legal Complaints Commission (1 March 2013 – 28 February 2018)
Appointed as member of World Bank Access to Information Appeals Board (1 March 2015- 28 February 2017)
Director, Dunion Associates - primarily providing international consultancy services, regarding access to information laws and practice
Panel Member, Access to Information Appeals Panel, International Finance Corporation ( from December 2015)

Appointment Information
Appointed as Convener for remaining term: 1 February 2017 - 31 August 2021
Appointed by SPCB: 1 September 2015 - 31 August 2021

Latest Register Update
04/01/17 - updated entry

Kevin Dunion OBE, Convener View Register of Interests

Lindsey Gallanders

Other interests and positions held:

Member of the Registration and Conduct Committees of the Scottish Social Services Council

Appointment Information
Appointed by SPCB as Commission Member: 15 February 2013 - 14 February 2019

Latest Register Update
04/01/17 - updated entry

Lindsey Gallanders View Register of Interests

Michael McCormick

Other interests and positions held:

Non-Executive Director with NHS 24
Periodical selector for the College of Policing delivering Assessment Centres for appointment to various ranks in the Police Service

Appointment Information
Appointed as Commission Member: 1 February 2017 - 31 January 2023

Initial Register Entry
16/02/17 - initial entry

View Register of Interests

Matt Smith OBE, DL, JP

Other interests and positions held:

Member, Employment Appeal Tribunal
Commissioner, Scottish Human Rights Commission
Member, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland (ICAS) Regulation Board
Member, Central Arbitration Committee

Appointment Information
Appointed by SPCB for 2nd term: 1 April 2014 - 31 March 2017
Appointed as Commission Member: 1 April 2010 - 31 March 2014

Latest Register Update
05/01/17 - updated entry

Matt Smith OBE, DL, JP View Register of Interests

Julia Ward

Other interests and positions held:

HM Courts and Tribunal Service - Employment Tribunal Member (Feb 2013 - 7 Feb 2017)
Scottish Court Service - Member of People Committee (sub committee of the Board)

Appointment Information
Appointed by SPCB for 2nd term: 15 January 2015 - 17 January 2018
Appointed as Commission Member: 18 January 2011 - 17 January 2015

Latest Register Update
04/01/17 - entry updated

Julia Ward View Register of Interests